spacer
spacer
www.HistoricalHomes.Virginia.GovHome
spacer
Governor of Virginia - Bob McDonnell: click to go to the Governor of Virginia's site

Executive Mansion - Click to go to the Executive Mansion website









 

"Journey Through Virginia's Historic Homes Promotional Weekend"

Saturday, September 14 and Sunday, September 15



In celebration of the Executive Mansion's 200th Anniversary, Governor Bob McDonnell and First Lady Maureen McDonnell declared 2013 the "Year of the Historic Home." There are over 120 sites scattered across Virginia classified as Historic Homes that span from pre-Colonial times through the Modern era, all of which provide an abundance of cultural, historical, and architectural information and promote an understanding of, as well as an interest in, Virginia’s story.

To further promote the Year of the Historic Home effort, in the spring of 2013, seven historic homes across Richmond came together in a collaborative effort to open their doors admission-free to the public for an entire weekend to "Time Travel through Virginia History." Because of the successes and benefits experienced from the spring promotional weekend, the homes throughout Richmond are coming together to host this collaborative weekend in the fall, as are over 50 homes throughout Virginia.

Exclusively during the weekend of September 14 and 15, 2013, Virginia’s most renowned historic homes and museums will be open free to the public, in support of theYear of the Historic Home.

"My husband and I have been thrilled with the excitement surrounding the Year of the Historic Home," said First Lady Maureen McDonnell. "The spring success of the Historic Home Promotional Weekend in Richmond came as a pleasant surprise, and promoting this initiative in September as a statewide effort is extremely exciting and promises great results.  We encourage you to print your passport and visit these historical sites, which have been home to many of America’s Founding Fathers, U.S. presidents, and many other important figures."

A list of the participating homes follows as well as details of each home,and their hours of operation on September 14 and 15, please visit our Learn page. Please don’t forget to visit our "time travelers" page and print your passport in order to be granted free admission.

*If you have any questions, or are interested in participating in this promotional weekend, please call 804-371-2642 ext. 2460.

Participating Homes:

Agecroft HallAgecroft Hall

Print this house listing

4305 Sulgrave Road
Richmond
804-353-4241
www.agecrofthall.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-4pm, Sunday 12:30pm-5:00pm

Agecroft Hall, home to Richmond's Tudor house, was first built in England in the 1500s, then transported across the ocean and rebuilt in Richmond in the 1920s. Today it is a museum furnished with art and artifacts from 17th century England. Located just west of Carytown at 4305 Sulgrave Road, visitors are encouraged to take a guided tour, stroll the manicured gardens overlooking the James River, explore the architectural exhibit, and shop in the museum store. Agecroft Hall is open 10:00 a.m.-4:00 p.m. on Saturdays and 12:30-5:00 p.m. on Sundays. Reservations for tours are recommended. Please call (804)353-4241. For general information, visit www.agecrofthall.com.

 

Armour house and gardensArmour House & Gardens

Print this house listing

4001 Claredon Road
Henrico
804-343-3506

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 1:00pm-4:00pm

The 1915 country estate was built by Edmund Christian in 1915.  Christian called the property Meadowview because the stately home once overlooked a large meadow. It was from this point that Confederate Civil War General Robert E. Lee observed the beginnings of the Seven Days Battle in 1862.  The property is also near the site where Chief Supreme Court Justice John Marshall had his country home called Chickahominy Farm in the early 19th century.

The house will be open for tours and grounds boast lovely gardens, picnic shelter and playground.


 

Ball Sellers HouseThe Ball-Sellers House

Print this house listing

5620 3rd Street, South
Arlington, Virginia 22204
703-942-9247
www.arlingtonhistory.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 1pm-4pm

In the mid 1700s, a farmer named John Ball built a one-room log cabin with a loft in what is now Arlington. Later he added a lean-to and covered the structure with clapboard. Amazingly, this cabin survives today and is a rare example of the dwelling of the ordinary farmer during the Colonial Era. The oldest home in Arlington, the house was donated to the Society in 1975 and is open free to the public.

 

Balthis HouseBalthis House

Print this house listing

Warren Heritage Society, Inc.
101 Chester Street
Front Royal
540-636-1446
warrenheritagesociety.org or Warren Heritage Society, Inc. on Facebook

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 10am-4pm

The oldest house on the oldest street in town dating back to the 1700s.  Original outdoor kitchen.

 

Belle Boyed CottageBelle Boyd Cottage

Print this house listing

Warren Heritage Society, Inc.
101 Chester Street
Front Royal
540-636-1446
warrenheritagesociety.org or Warren Heritage Society, Inc. on Facebook

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 10am-4pm

Home of Confederate spy Belle Boyd.

 

Belle Grove PlantationBelle Grove Plantation - Middleton

Print this house listing

336 Belle Grove Road
Middletown
540-869-2028  
Email: info@bellegrove.org
www.bellegrove.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-4pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm 
With guided tours every quarter past the hour.

Situated on a rise near the Great Wagon Road in Virginia’s Shenandoah Valley, Belle Grove (1797) was originally home of Major Isaac Hite Jr. and his wife Nelly, sister of President James Madison. The Hites used design principles recommended by Thomas Jefferson and built their elegant manor house of limestone quarried on the property. During the Civil War, the battle of Cedar Creek raged around the mansion, but it remained remarkably unscathed. Once the centerpiece of a 7500-acre plantation, Belle Grove has always enjoyed an expansive pastoral setting. Today, this historic site includes the original icehouse and smokehouse and a slave cemetery, together with a heritage apple orchard, a demonstration garden, and an early 20th century barn, all set against a background of splendid mountain views.

 

Belle Grove Plantation, Birthplace of President James MadisonBelle Grove Plantation, Birthplace of President James Madison

Print this house listing

9221 Belle Grove Drive
King George, VA
540-621-7340
www.bellegroveplantation.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 9am-6pm

Belle Grove Plantation, the birthplace of President James Madison, located in King George County, Virginia. Our Southern Plantation was established in 1670 on the banks of the Rappahannock River. Belle Grove's stately mansion was built in 1791 and has been the location of many great American Historic events. We invite you to come visit us and allow us to transport you back to the days of Southern Elegance to a time of Genteel Ladies and Debonair Gentleman.

We will be giving tours on Saturday, September 14th from 9:00am to 6:00pm. Tours are about 1 hour. There are several stairs involved in this tour. Tours will start at the top and bottom of each hour. We will not be available for tours on Sunday, September 15th. On Sunday, September 15th, we will be hosting Mr. and Mrs. Madison of Montpelier at Belle Grove Plantation for their 219th Wedding Anniversary Dinner. If you wish to attend this event, please check our website under our Events Calendar for ticket information.

 

 

Boykin's Tavern MuseumBoykin's Tavern

Print this house listing

17130 Monument Circle
Isle of Wight
757-357-0115
www.historicisleofwight.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 11am-4pm

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Boykin’s Tavern was named for Francis Boykin, who served as a lieutenant with Patrick Henry and later camped with George Washington at Valley Forge. It is the only surviving structure associated with the Isle of Wight Courthouse of 1800. Additionally, the tavern, which features architectural details that are rare in rural Virginia, played a significant role in both the Revolutionary War and Civil War.

 

Captain Timothy Hill HouseCaptain Timothy Hill House

Print this house listing

5122 Main Street
Chincoteague Island
973-831-5961
www.captaintimothyhillhouse.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday Noon-4pm

The Captain Timothy Hill House, the oldest house on Chincoteague Island was built circa 1800 and is arare survivor of an early architectural style brought to the New World in 1638.  Constructionis pit sawn log planks joined at the corners with full compound dovetail notchesand originally built to have a wooden chimney. The National and Virginia Historic Registers listed the property in 2011. This humble house, its architecture and interior furnishings offer a glimpse of how so many of our earliest ancestors lived.  And, come see the early sailing ships carved into the exterior logs.

 

Centre Hill MuseumCentre Hill Museum

Print this house listing

1 Centre Hill Avenue
Petersburg
804-733-2401www.petersburg-va.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm.
Guided tours are offered every hour on the hour with the last tour beginning at 4:00 on each day

Built in 1823 by Robert Bolling IV a Revolutionary War veteran and prominent citizen of Petersburg, Centre Hill remained a residence until 1936. Designed in the Federal architectural style, the house underwent an extensive renovation in the 1840s when many Greek revival architectural elements were added to the structure. The early twentieth century saw the addition of a Colonial revival style stairway as well as electricity and other modern features. Two U.S. Presidents, Abraham Lincoln and William H. Taft visited the residence while they were in office. The house was also occupied by U.S. military troops after the Civil War. Today, the house is a historic house museum owned and operated by the City of Petersburg. Through guided tours of period rooms, visitors learn about the building’s architecture and see examples of decorative arts from the eighteenth through the twentieth centuries.

 

 

Clarke-Palmore House MuseumClarke-Palmore House

Print this house listing

904 McCoul Street
Henrico
804-652-3409

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 1pm-4pm

The Clarke-Palmore House Museum is located high atop historic Marion Hill in Henrico County. The Museum interprets the story of the Palmore family who lived on a small farm in 1930 struggling through the Great Depression.

 

Dabbs House MuseumDabbs House Museum

Print this house listing

3812 Nine mile Rd.
Henrico
804-652-3406

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 9am-5pm

Come visit the nearly 200 year old home of Josiah Dabbs. Inside these walls were Henrico County’s first police station, the county alms house for the poor and most famously Robert E. Lee’s first headquarters as commander of the Army of Northern Virginia. While staying at the Dabbs House, Lee planned and launched the Seven Days Campaign in June and July 1862 and cemented his place in history.

 

Edgar Allen Poe MuseumEdgar Allan Poe Museum

Print this house listing

1914 East Main Street
Richmond
888-21-EAPOE
http://www.poemuseum.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 11am-5pm
Guided and self-guided tours are available.

Opened in 1922, Virginia’s only literary museum, the Poe Museum in Richmond, boasts the world's finest collection of Edgar Allan Poe's manuscripts, letters, first editions, memorabilia and personal belongings. The Poe Museum provides a retreat into early nineteenth century Richmond where the author of "The Raven" and "The Tell-Tale Heart" lived and worked. The museum explores Poe’s life and career by documenting his accomplishments with pictures, relics, and verse, and focusing on his many years in Richmond. One of the structures in the museum’s four-building complex is the ca.1754 Old Stone House, the oldest residential structure in the original city limits of Richmond.

 

Edith Bolling Wilson MuseumEdith Bolling Wilson Birthplace Foundation and Museum

Print this house listing

145 East Main Street
Wytheville, VA 24382
276-22-EDITH (276-223-3484)

info@edithbollingwilson.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-4pm, Sunday 1pm-4pm

Today, the exterior of the home where Edith Bolling Wilson was born looks much the same as it did during her childhood. The Bolling home was quite large, perched above street-level storefronts that once supplemented the Bolling family income. The home is located in the heart of downtown Wytheville. The Main Street building is a two-story brick building with a false third story. The front has three shop fronts at street level under a simple cornice. The southeast side elevation features a second-story double doorway with a round-arched transom that formerly opened onto a balcony. The rear elevation features exterior brick chimneys and a back porch providing a beautiful view of the mountains of Wythe County.

Approximately two-thirds of the second floor interior remains as it was when the Bolling family lived in the home from 1866-1899. Original interior features include stairway, fireplace hearths and mantels, casework, doorways, flooring, and the bedroom where Edith Bolling was born in 1872 as the 7th of eleven children. The Bolling Home was home to over 20 family members and Grandmother Bolling's 26 canaries.

The Bolling Home is currently stabilized and in a state of good repair, yet in need of extensive rehabilitation in order to preserve the historic site for future generations to enjoy and utilize. The Edith Bolling Wilson Birthplace Foundation, a 501(c)3 non-profit organization, is in need of funds to restore the birthplace and childhood home of First Lady Edith Bolling Wilson.

 

Virginia's Executive MansionExecutive Mansion

Print this house listing

Intersection of 9th and Grace Streets, Capitol Square
Richmond, Virginia 23219
804-371-2642 ext. 2460

www.executivemansion.virginia.gov
executivemansion@governor.virginia.gov

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-2 pm, Sunday 11am-2pm

Time Period: 1776-1830 (Revolutionary - Federal) Virginia’s Executive Mansion was conceived during the Revolutionary War and built in the midst of the War of 1812. In 1813, Governor James Barbour became the first governor to live in the Executive Mansion, which has now has been the home to over 50 governors and their families. Governor Barbour's office was located on the first floor, and visitors were allowed to walk in and have a seat in the hall while they waited to meet with him. It was common for General Assembly members and Virginia citizens alike to drop in and make themselves at home, whether they had official business with the governor or just wanted to help themselves to punch that was always available in the dining room. A house that has been through one war, two fires, two threats of mob action, one instance of looting, four additions, and countless renovations while serving 54 families has certainly earned its place on the National Historic Register.

 

 

Gadsby's Tavern MuseumGadsby’s Tavern Museum

Print this house listing

134 N. Royal Street
Alexandria
703-746-4242
www.GadsbysTavern.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm (last tour at 4:45 pm each day)

Discover Alexandria’s five-star hotel of the 18th century!  Gadsby’s Tavern Museum consists of two buildings, the c. 1785 tavern and the 1792 City Tavern and Hotel.  The buildings were constructed by John Wise, but made famous by John Gadsby.  Mr. Gadsby’s establishment was the center of political, business, and social life in Alexandria and in the new federal city of Washington, D.C. The City Tavern’s Ballroom was the location of George Washington’s Birthnight Ball, which he attended in 1798 and 1799, as well as Thomas Jefferson’s Inaugural Banquet in 1801.    Located in the heart of Old Town, the museum offers tours, children’s programs and special events.

 

Gari Melcher's Home and Studio at BelmontGari Melchers Home & Studio at Belmont

Print this house listing

224 Washington Street
Falmouth
540-654-1015
www.GariMelchers.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 10am-5pm

Gari Melchers Home & Studio at Belmont was the home and workplace of American artist Gari Melchers from 1916-1932.  The 18th century Georgian-style house was purchased by Gari and Corinne Melchers as a welcome respite from their travels and hectic life in New York City.  Belmont also provided the couple an idyllic setting in which to entertain, with the guest list often including prominent social, business and political figures of the day.  A National Historic Landmark, Gari Melchers Home and Studio is one of just 30 of America’s most significant artists’ spaces included in the National Trust for Historic Preservation’s Historic Artists’ Homes and Studios consortium. 

 

George Washington Birthplace National MonumentGeorge Washington Birthplace National Monument

Print this house listing

1732 Popes Creek Road
Colonial Beach
804-227-1732
www.nps.gov/gewa

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 9am-5pm

Welcome to the George Washington Birthplace National Monument.  We encourage you to come and explore one of the first historic sites in the National Park Service and to experience the landscape that shaped this "essential man."

George Washington was born at Popes Creek in 1732 and remained at this plantation until age 3 when the family moved to another one of the family's properties at Ferry Farm near Fredericksburg, Virginia. The Popes Creek farm stayed in the Washington family until it passed first to the state of Virginia and then to the Federal government for preservation and protection.
Over his lifetime, George Washington made many trips back to Popes Creek, and through the area known as the Northern Neck of Virginia, to see friends and relatives. As a teenager while studying the trade of land surveying, George completed one of his earliest surveys here. The house is not the house where George Washington was born, but the spirit of our great whole man is there; and in these lovely and provoking surroundings, the staunch character of our hero comes to the imagination."  We have an active colonial living farm with heritage breed animals.

The NPS staff and volunteers are dedicated to making your visit to George Washington Birthplace National Monument a safe and enjoyable opportunity to immerse yourself in the sights and sounds that helped to shape the character of America's greatest leader. Spend some time exploring this and other national park websites. We hope you are inspired to visit us and all of your national parks soon.  We are open 9am - 5pm, seven days a week - only closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas and New Year’s day. 

 

Glencoe Museum and GalleryGlencoe Museum & Gallery

Print this house listing

600 Unruh Drive
Radford
540-731-5031
www.GlencoeMuseum.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-4pm, Sunday 1pm-4pm

Come explore the history of General Gabriel C. Wharton, CSA, at his home Glencoe. The museum guides visitors through the Wharton family's time of residence at the mansion. The site also includes history exhibits, an art gallery and the Radford Visitor's Center.

 

Gunston HallGunston Hall

Print this house listing

10709 Gunston Road
Lorton
705-550-9220
www.Gunstonhall.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 9:30am - 4:30pm
Grounds close at 6:00pm

Gunston Hall was once the center of a 5,500-acre tobacco and corn plantation. Its owner, George Mason IV (1725-1792), was a fourth generation Virginian who became a senior statesman and author of the Virginia Declaration of Rights, Mason was among the first to call for such fundamental American liberties as religious toleration and freedom of the press.  Mason’s home, constructed between 1755 and 1759, is an outstanding example of Georgian architecture.  Visitors receive a guided tour of the mansion with outbuildings, 550 acres of grounds and hiking trails to visit.

 

Haller-Gibboney Rock House MuseumHaller-Gibboney Rock House Museum

Print this house listing

205 Tazewell Street
Wytheville
276-223-3330
www.wythevillemuseums.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday Noon-4pm, Sunday 1pm-4pm

The work of Wytheville’s first resident physician, Dr. John Haller, is featured in a permanent exhibition at his former home, the Rock House. Other exhibits focus on the Haller family, including numerous family items, period furniture, and domestic life in the 19th century.

 

Hanover TavernHanover Tavern

Print this house listing

13181 Hanover Courthouse Rd.
Hanover
804-537-5050
www.hanovertavern.org

Weekend promotion is free audio tours of the building from 11am-4:00pm

There has been a tavern at Hanover serving courthouse users, residents, travelers, and stagecoach passengers since 1733. The oldest part of the current building was constructed in 1791 with additions in 1822, 1832, and the late 20th century.  Hanover Tavern is listed on the Virginia Landmarks Register and the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Hanover Courthouse Historic District. 

 

Hermitage Museum and GardensHermitage Museum and Gardens

Print this house listing

7637 North Shore Road
Norfolk
757-423-2052
Thehermitagemuseum.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm

Erected in 1908 as a summer retreat for the Sloane family the Hermitage began its existence as an escape from the industrialization of American society. Continuous renovations to the house during the first half of the 20th century demonstrated that the Hermitage was creating a home environment that would encapsulate the rich history of the time period, as well as the evolution of the arts in Southeastern Virginia. Led by William and Florence Sloane the Hermitage would transform over a thirty year period from a quiet riverside residence into a rich infusion of architectural styles and decorative arts. In January 1937, they deeded their by-now 42 room home to the Foundation, so that their substantial collection of European and Oriental art work and objects d'art might be enjoyed by the public.

The Hermitage’s collection encompasses artwork from across five continents and dating as far back as 2300 B.C.E. The range of styles in pieces found in the museum come as a response to the Sloane families own personal tastes, as well as their intentions to nurture a fledgling art scene in the Tidewater area of Virginia. This eclectic mix of art was thoughtfully assembled in the hopes of complimenting the collections found throughout the regions museums. With an unbiased appreciation for all cultures Mrs. Sloane filled the void of art in Hampton Roads with a collection that transcended the typical historic house.

 

Hill House MuseumHill House Museum

Print this house listing

221 North Street
Portsmouth, Virginia  23704
757-393-0241

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 1pm to 4pm

The Hill House Museum was built as a private residence around 1820. Located in Olde Towne Portsmouth, Virginia, this magnificent home housed three generations of the Hill family. It is unique in many features but mostly because it contains belongings' of each generation starting in 1820.

The Hill House Museum is the headquarters of the non-profit  Portsmouth Historical Association (PHA). In the 1960's it was left to the PHA by its last occupant, Miss Evelyn Hill.  This 4 story, English Basement style home is about 6500 square feet and includes the original detached (now attached) kitchen.  It is open to the public for a nominal fee which is used for general upkeep, special events and restoration efforts.

Around 2007  the Hill House Museum was closed temporarily due to badly needed restoration and maintenance. Since then many projects have been completed including restoration of the garden and a archeological dig  in the garden which uncovered three outhouses and a cistern. Items recovered in are now displayed on the premises. 

 

Historic Kenmore - George Washington's Sister's HouseHistoric Kenmore Plantation

Print this house listing

1201 Washington Avenue
Fredericksburg
540-373-3381
www.kenmore.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday10:00am to 5:00pm (last tour starts at 4:15pm)

Built by George Washington's sister Betty Washington Lewis and her husband, Fielding Lewis, this beautiful, Georgian-style, brick mansion reflects the pre-Revolutionary-War wealth and status of the Fredericksburg merchant.
During the Revolutionary War, Lewis loaned the state of Virginia money to build and support a gun factory in Fredericksburg. At the time of his death in 1781, he was still owed £7000 but it was never repaid. He also lost a great deal of money during the war because he was not able to carry on his mercantile business with England. However, his house still stands - with its elegant exterior and interior rooms adorned with colorful paint, wallpaper, and decorative plaster ceilings.

Kenmore is privately owned by The George Washington Foundation and is currently undergoing a major refurnishing to tell the stories of the Lewises and their family. A significant, multi-year architectural restoration, completed in 2008, took the house back to the way it looked in the 18th century and now serves as the stage for sharing the legacy of this patriotic family.

 

Holladay House Bed and BreakfastHolladay House Bed and Breakfast

Print this house listing

155 West Main Street
Orange
540-672-4893
innkeeper@holladayhousebandb.com

HolladayHouseBandB.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 11am-7pm

The Holladay House offers gracious accommodations in Virginia's celebrated wine country. Built circa 1830, the Holladay House was standing during President James Madison’s lifetime and is only 3 minutes away from his spectacular Montpelier plantation. Echoes of the past resonate throughout this stately historic inn. John Madison Chapman, grand nephew of James Madison, owned the Holladay House for most of the 19th century. Civil War enthusiasts will appreciate walking on the same wooden floors that J.E.B Stuart and others tread in the winter of 1863/64. Dr. Lewis Holladay, the inn's namesake, purchased the home in 1899, and it remained in his family for over 100 years.

The current owners, Sam and Sharon Elswick, have earned a reputation for hospitality. They invite you to indulge in the inn's historic suites, double whirlpool tubs, delectable breakfasts, and made-from-scratch confections. Stroll down Main Street to fine dining restaurants, antique stores, and art galleries. Enticing itineraries, packages and upgrades will add spice to your experience. Guided town tours are available upon request.

 

Inn at Hans MeadowInn at Hans Meadow

Print this house listing

1800 Depot Street, NE
Christiansburg, VA 24073
540-382-2060

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 11am-7pm

Our circa 1849 mansion offers the classic elegance of a 19th century home joined with the convenience and technology of a 21st century inn. Rich in history, this Bed and Breakfast is tucked away on almost 3 acres of land. Guests can enjoy a walk in our English Boxwood maze which is over 100 years old. Our Siberian Elm has been certified the largest and oldest in the state by the Virginia Forestry Department. The beautiful fishpond, which features a waterfall, fountain and surrounding deck, is a lovely place to relax and enjoy your morning cup of coffee. But our Inn is not just conveniently located near two Universities, the interstate and many attractions, we also have a significant history to boast about as well.

On May 1, 1790 James Craig donated 175 acres of his property to establish a county seat, and the Christiansburg town charter was granted in 1792. James Craig operated Hans Meadow as a tavern as early as 1788, and it continued in operation until 1845. The seventh President of the United States, Andrew Jackson, once stayed at the tavern in 1829 when he was traveling from his Tennessee home to Washington to begin his presidency. When James Craig died in 1834, his son John Craig, continued to operate the Hans Meadow Tavern until around 1845. He removed the original log house and replaced it with the present house in 1849.

 

Ivy Lodge Museum & Gift ShopIvy Lodge Museum & Gift Shop

Print this house listing

Warren Heritage Society, Inc.
101 Chester Street
Front Royal
540-636-1446
warrenheritagesociety.org or Warren Heritage Society, Inc. on Facebook

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 10am-4pm

Building dates back to 1825

 

John Marshall HouseThe John Marshall House

Print this house listing

818 East Marshall Street
Richmond
804-648-7998
www.preservationvirginia.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday Noon-5pm

The John Marshall House, built in 1790 in the fashionable Court End neighborhood of Richmond, was the home of the Great Chief Justice for forty-five years. Listed on the National and Virginia historic registers, the John Marshall House has undergone remarkably few changes since Marshall’s lifetime. The property remained in the Marshall family until 1911. It is currently owned and operated by Preservation Virginia. Visitors can enjoy an open house self guided tour, stroll the garden and visit the Museum Shop.

 

Ker PlaceKer Place

Print this house listing

69 Market Street
Onancock
757-787-8012
www.shorehistory.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 11am- 3pm

Ker Place is the headquarters of the Eastern Shore of Virginia Historical Society located in Onancock, VA. This magnificent Federal period Georgian style house was built in 1799-1803 for prosperous merchant farmer John Shepherd Ker and his wife Agnes Corbin Ker and their family. It is described by the Virginia Historical Landmarks Commission as "the finest and most elaborate Federal mansion on Virginia's Eastern Shore," and "one of the Shore's major architectural landmarks."

 

Lanesville OrdinaryLanesville Ordinary at Claude Moore Park

Print this house listing

Claude Moore Park’s Historic District
21544 Old Vestal’s Gap Road
Sterling
571-258-3700
loudoun.gov/claudemoorepark

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-3pm, Sunday 1pm-3pm

The Lanesville Ordinary at Claude Moore Park was built in 1779. Over the years it served as a family home, an ordinary, and a post office. This National Register of Historic Places listed property was owned by just two families, the Lane/Keene/Bridges family (170 years) and Dr. Claude Moore (50 years). Costumed interpreters will demonstrate Colonial cooking and lead tours through Lanesville focusing on the United States’ history that these families witnessed firsthand.

 

Lee-Fendall House Museum & GardenLee-Fendall House

Print this house listing

614 Oronoco St.
Alexandria
703-548-1789

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-2pm, Sunday 1pm-4pm

General "Light Horse Harry" Lee, Revolutionary war Hero and father to Confederate General Robert E. Lee, sold this property to his cousin Philip Fendall in 1784. The following spring, Fendall started construction on the structure that would serve as home to over thirty-seven members of the Lee family. The house later served as a Civil War hospital and as the home of John L. Lewis, one of the most powerful and controversial labor leaders in American history. Today, the Lee-Fendall House is a showcase of over 200 years of American history.

 

Magnolia Grange Plantation House MuseumMagnolia Grange Museum House

Print this house listing

10020 Iron Bridge Rd
Chesterfield
804-796-1479

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 10am-2pm

Magnolia Grange has been open since 1984 for tours, events, and gift shop. The house was built in 1822 by William Winfree, and lived in by 2 other families until 1981. The house is decorated with period antiques to the time William and Lucy Winfree lived here 1822-1844.

 

Mansion on Main (Thomas House)Mansion on Main B & B

Print this house listing

Corner of Main Street and Church Street
Smithfield
757-357-0006
www.mansion-on-main.net

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Noon-4pm

Mansion on Main - the 1889 showplace home erected by Richard Samuel (R. S.) Thomas, a Victorian era "Virginian of Virginians" (title bestowed by the Virginia Historical Society) - was opened to the public in 1997 by Sala Clark for use as a bed and breakfast after a true-to-period restoration. Standing proudly on the corner of original colonial roads mapped out by a direct Thomas ancestor in 1752, it was the largest house in Smithfield before 1900. Mansion on Main is an architectural benchmark: a "modern" urban look changed the face of downtown from modest homes, evolving from traditional colonial and Tidewater cottage styles, to a larger, embellished Queen Anne styles, and features original transitional interior Art Nouveau and Art Deco influences.
R. S. Thomas is included in the Encyclopedia of Virginia Biography. Both he and his wife, Francis Boykin Jordan, are descendants from the earliest families in Isle of Wight. Thomas literally wrote the book on the 1632 Historic St. Luke's Shrine (Church) - entitled "The Old Brick Church" - and was instrumental in saving this national landmark in the 1890s.
The Mansion was the first house in Smithfield's Historic District to return to authentic "Painted Lady" splendor and is filled with Victorian and Edwardian antique furnishings that entail fine art and accessory collections. It retains original stained glass windows, hand carved crown plaster moldings, woodwork (to include a grand staircase with two newel posts), and heart pine floors.
Although Ms. Clark, a Design and Art History 1993 graduate from Meredith College, did not live to see the restoration fully completed, her vision and efforts resurrected a place that offers the romantic beauty of a bygone era. An old fashion garden with favorite flowers of the Victorians and native plants is on the grounds beside the shop, Mansion House Art & Antiques.

 

Marhsall HouseThe Marshall House

Print this house listing

217 Edwards Ferry Rd.
Leesburg
703-777-1301
www.georgecmarshall.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm

The Marshall House was the home of General George C. Marshall and his wife Katherine from 1941 to 1959.  Marshall lived there during the period of his greatest achievements.  Most notably he earned the rank of Five-Star General; held positions as United States Chief of Staff of the Army, Secretary of State, and Secretary of Defense; and was the first professional soldier to be awarded the Nobel Peace Prize.  Located in historic Leesburg, Virginia, the 18th century estate is a National Historic Landmark .  The Marshall House was restored in 2005 and is furnished with approximately 90 percent of the Marshall's original belongings. 

 

Maymont MansionMaymont

Print this house listing

1700 Hampton Street
Richmond
804-358-7166, ext. 310 
www.maymont.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday from 12 to 5pm.  

Maymont, a 100-acre American estate, was the home of New South business leader James Dooley and his wife Sallie from 1893 through the 1920s.  The Maymont Mansion with 21 restored rooms offers an unusually complete depiction of upstairs-downstairs life in the Gilded Age.  The opulent upstairs interiors are adorned with Tiffany stained glass, frescoed ceilings and other sumptuous detailing and filled with original furnishings and artwork.  Downstairs service rooms tell the story of household tasks and technology and the challenges of working in domestic service during the Jim Crow era.  The surrounding landscape features Italian and Japanese gardens, magnificent trees, and a carriage display as well as Virginia wildlife exhibits, a Children's Farm and the Robins Nature & Visitor Center. 

 

Meadow Farm MuseumMeadow Farm Museum

Print this house listing

3400 Mountain Road
Glen Allen
804-501-2130
http://www.co.henrico.va.us/rec/recreation-centers-facilities/meadowfarm/

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday Noon-4pm

An 1860s living historical farm and museum, Meadow Farm Museum presents programs and exhibits on the culture of the rural south. 

The farmhouse interpretation tells the story of the Sheppard family on the eve of the Civil War. The farm was owned by seven generations of the Sheppard family, starting in 1713. In 1980, Elizabeth Adam Crump donated the property to Henrico County in honor of her late husband, Sheppard Crump.

 

MenokinMenokin

Print this house listing

4037 Menokin Road
Warsaw
804-333-1776
www.menokin.org
Blog: www.menokinrubblewithacause.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday Noon-4pm

Menokin Open House - in conjunction with the "Journey Through Virginia's Historic Home Promotional Weekend," Come see the newly finished model of The Menokin Project and learn about our plans to strategically rehabilitate this National Historic Landmark using architectural glass. Bring your Time Traveler's Passport, or pick up a copy here.

 

MiddlecourtMiddlecourt and Penshurst

Print this house listing

The Atkinson Museum of Hampden Sydney College
College Road at the intersection of College Road and Via Sacra
Hampton-Sydney
434-223-6134
away@hsc.edu
www.hsc.edu/museum.html

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-3pm, Sunday 11am-3pm (guided walking tours)

The Atkinson Museum of Hampden Sydney College will provide walking tours of the old seminary campus, which includes exterior tours of two historic homes.  The two Federal style homes, Middlecourt (1829) and Penshurst (1830), were part of the original Union Theological Seminary and retain a large portion of their original features.  
 
The tours will last about thirty minutes and are free of charge.  Historic passport holders will receive a special gift commemorating the historic cupolas of the 235-year-old campus.
 
All tours begin at the Atkinson Museum on the Campus of Hampden-Sydney College, four miles south of Farmville.

 

Morven ParkMorven Park

Print this house listing

17263 Southern Planter Lane
Leesburg
703-777-2414
www.MorvenPark.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 11am-5pm

Morven Park is the 1,000-acre former estate of Virginia’s 55th governor, Westmoreland Davis. Tours of the Davis Mansion reflect the life of this gentleman farmer and his wife, who turned Morven Park into a model farm, sharing what he learned with other farmers. The Mansion remains as it did in in the 1920s, filled with original furnishings and antiques gathered during the couple’s world travels.

 

Oatlands Historic House and GardensOatlands

Print this house listing

20850 Oatlands Plantation Lane
Leesburg
703-777-3174
www.oatlands.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm

Oatlands is a 360-acre self-supporting National Trust Historic Site and National Historic Landmark.  The site features a stunning landscape with magnificent gardens, 1804 mansion and 19th century brick dependencies, including the Oatlands greenhouse, the second oldest greenhouse in the nation. The Historic House Passport is good for a regular mansion tour.  Visitors must download the passport and bring it with them the day of their tour.  A Civil War on the Home Front tour and/or The Enslaved Community at Oatlands Tour may be added for an additional fee.  See www.oatlands.org for specific tour time information.  Gift shop, restrooms, picnic area.

 

Old Coast Guard StationOld Coast Guard Station Museum

Print this house listing

2401 Atlantic Avenue
Virginia Beach
757-422-1587
www.oldcoastguardstation.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday Noon-5pm

Housed in a 1903 Life-Saving Station, the Old Coast Guard Station honors and preserves the history of Virginia's coastal communities and maritime heritage. The scope of the Station's exhibits begins with the Virginia Beach community and extends to subjects related to Virginia's oceanfront, coastal and water related heritage.

 

Patrick Henry's Red HillPatrick Henry's Red Hill National Memorial

Print this house listing

1250 Red Hill Rd.
Brookneal, VA 24528
434-376-2044
www.redhill.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 9am-5pm

Red Hill was Patrick Henry's last home and burial place. Red Hill is the National Memorial for Patrick Henry and his life and home. Exhibiting Patrick Henry's restored artwork, buildings, and the nationally ranked Osage orange tree, Red Hill offers tours, special events and school outreach programs.

 

ScotchtownPatrick Henry's Scotchtown

Print this house listing

16120 Chiswell Lane
Beaverdam
804-227-3500
www.preservationvirginia.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm

Patrick Henry's Scotchtown, built in the early half of the 18th century was home to several notable Virginians including Patrick Henry, noted orator of the American Revolution. It was here that Henry conceived of his most influential revolutionary ideas. The architecturally unique home and reproduction outbuildings are excellent examples of a small Virginia plantation.  Acquired by Preservation Virginia (then known as the APVA) in 1958, after many changes in ownership and building structure, the home was restored to closely resemble the period of the Henry families residence. Visitors can enjoy an open-house style, self-guided tours.

 

Point of HonorPoint of Honor

Print this house listing

112 Cabell Street
Lynchburg
434-455-6226
museum@lynchburgva.gov

www.pointofhonor.org, Facebook/LynchburgMuseum

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-4pm, Sunday Noon-4pm

Point of Honor is a refined Federal period home overlooking the James River in Lynchburg’s historic Daniel’s Hill neighborhood. Built in 1815 by Dr. George Cabell, Patrick Henry’s physician and friend, it was once the seat of a 750 acre plantation. The home is one of the few remaining polygonal bay homes in the Commonwealth. Point of Honor is fully restored and furnished and the grounds contain a recreated hearth kitchen and Gift Shop. While the main interpretation is focused on 1815-1830 Era of Good Feelings, the story of the land and its residents through time is also told. This includes the Cabells and their slaves, Colonel and Mrs. Robert Owen, who lived there during the Civil War, and many others.

 

Smith's FortSmith's Fort

Print this house listing

217 Smith Fort Lane
Surry
757-294-3872
www.preservationvirginia.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday Noon-5pm

Smith's Fort plantation is located on the site of Captain John Smith's planned "New Fort", sits nestled in the land given by Chief Powhatan as a dowry for his daughter, Pocahontas upon her marriage to John Rolfe in Surry County.  A beautiful home, built between 1751-1756 by Jacob Faulcon, of Flemish Bond brick has a charming interior that retains much of its original woodwork and provides fine example of early American and English period furnishings from the late 16th through the early 18th centuries. Restored by Preservation Virginia (then known as the APVA) in 1933, visitors can now see the site of the 1609 retreat fort and the engaging manor home.

 

Stonewall Jackson HouseThe Stonewall Jackson House

Print this house listing

8 East Washington Street
Lexington
540-464-7704
www.stonewalljackson.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 9am-5pm, Sunday 1pm-5pm
Tours begin on the hour and half hour, and the last tour begins at 4:30 each day.

The Stonewall Jackson House is the only home that the famous Confederate General Thomas J. "Stonewall" Jackson ever owned. He lived there with his wife, Mary Anna Morrison Jackson, immediately before the American Civil War, while he taught Natural and Experimental Philosophy and Artillery Tactics at the Virginia Military Institute. Enjoy the backyard kitchen garden, the museum shop and guided tours of the house, which has been restored to its appearance at the time of the Jacksons’ occupancy and furnished with many of their own personal effects. Learn about Jackson’s life as a private citizen, family man, teacher, church member, and community leader before the war. Come discover the man who became a legend!

 

StratfordStratford Hall

Print this house listing

483 Great House Road
Stratford
804-493-8038
www.stratfordhall.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 9:30am-5pm
Tours are on the hour every hour from 10am through 4pm

Built by Thomas Lee in the 1730s, Stratford Hall is one of the great houses of American history. Four generations of the Lee family passed through its stately doors, including Richard Henry Lee and Francis Lightfoot Lee, the only two brothers to sign the Declaration of Independence, Revolutionary War hero "Light Horse Harry" Lee, and his son, Civil War General Robert E. Lee, who was born at Stratford in 1807.

Set on 1,900 acres on the Potomac River, Stratford Hall today offers a tranquil setting with hours of leisure activities for the whole family. Start by touring the Visitor Center and its galleries. Take a tour of the Great House, walk the expansive grounds and view the beautiful gardens. Go for a hike on one of the many nature trails. Hunt for sharks teeth on the beach. Browse the gift shop. Stay overnight in one of our many comfortable accommodations.

 

Sully Historic SiteSully Historic Site

Print this house listing

3650 Historic Sully Way
Chantilly
703-437-1794
carol.mcdonnell@fairfaxcounty.gov
www.fairfaxcounty.gov/parks/sully

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 11am-4pm

Sully, the 1794 home of Richard Bland Lee, combines aspects of Georgian and Federal architecture, and is complemented by original outbuildings, representative slave quarter and garden.  Richard Bland Lee was northern Virginia’s first Representative to Congress, and an uncle of General Robert E. Lee. Sully is accredited by the American Association of Museums and included on the National Register for Historic Places, the National Park Service’s Underground Railroad Network to Freedom and the Virginia Civil War Trails. The home is furnished with original Lee pieces and Federal period antiques.  Guided tours highlight the early 19th century life of the Richard Bland Lee family, tenant farmers and enslaved African Americans. Programs reflect Fairfax County’s history through the 20th century. 

 

Danville Museum of Fine Arts and HistorySutherlin Mansion

Print this house listing

Danville Museum of Fine Arts and History
975 Main Street
Danville
434-793-5644
www.danvillemuseum.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday 2pm-5pm

The Sutherlin Mansion, built in 1859, is one of the finest examples of Italian Villa architecture in Virginia.  Designed by F.B. Clopton, this was the home of Major William T. Suthlerin, Civil War Quartermaster for Danville.  It is also known as "The Last Capitol of the Confederacy" as Jefferson Davis met here with his full cabinet for the last time.  Davis stayed in the Mansion April 3-10, 1865 after the evacuation of Richmond.  The Mansion is home to a large decorative arts collection, a Civil War exhibit, and five art galleries.  It is enhanced by a picket fence, a reproduction of the one in place there in the late 1880s and a restoration project of The Garden Club of Virginia.  There is a rose garden and several monuments on the grounds.  The Mansion, located at 975 Main Street, is at the start of Danville’s Historic District and the Holbrook District walking tours. 

 

Bacon's CastleVirginia’s Bacon’s Castle

Print this house listing

465 Bacon's Castle Trail
Surry
757-357-5976
www.preservatiovirginia.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm, Sunday Noon-5pm (self guided tours)

Bacon’s Castle, the long term family seat of the Allen family, which is best known for its occupation during the political uprising led by Nathanial Bacon, is a beautiful, rare example of the pride of Virginia’s 17th century merchant-planters. After acquiring the property in 1973, Preservation Virginia (then known as the APVA) began restoration with an eye towards an inclusive story of the many alterations to the home over time. In the almost 350 years of habitation at the site, historical records have given us an excellent picture of what the lives of the families both free and enslaved looked like through time. 17th century English formal gardens, restored by the Garden Club of Virginia, a choice selection of artifacts revealed during excavations and well documented architectural transformations of this unique Jacobean structure make for a fine day trip.

 

Walkerton TavernWalkerton Tavern

Print this house listing

2892 Mountain Road
Glen Allen, VA 23060
804-261-6898

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 1pm-4pm

Walkerton was built by John Walker for use as a tavern in 1825. Little did Mr. Walker know that the building would be used as an inn, tavern, voting precinct, country store, post office, private home and possibly as a hospital during the Civil War. Come see the surviving house complete with an architecturally unique second-story swinging wall.

 

Weems-Bott MuseumWeems-Botts Museum

Print this house listing

3944 Cameron Street
Dumfries, VA 22026
703-221-2218
http://historicdumfries.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-4pm and Sunday Noon-5pm

Visit the Weems-Botts Museum for Free during the “Journey Through Virginia's Historic Home Promotional Weekend on Saturday, September 14 and Sunday, September 15 Learn about our Rich Past at Virginia's Oldest Continuously Chartered Town!

 

Weston PlantationWeston Plantation

Print this house listing

400 Weston Lane
Hopewell
804-458-4682
www.historichopewell.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-4:30pm, Sunday 1pm-4:30pm

Weston Plantation is the last surviving 18th Century plantation home on the banks of the Appomattox River. Built in 1789 by William Gilliam and his wife Christian Eppes Gilliam, the manor’s Georgian architecture is accentuated by Neo-classical design features, a spiral stairway highlighted by unusual concave paneling, detailed woodwork on the first floor and a dumb waiter hidden in the dining room cupboard.  All three floors of the building and 2 dependencies are open to visitors.

 

White House of the ConfederacyWhite House of the Confederacy

Print this house listing

1201 East Clay Street
Richmond, VA
855.649.1861
www.moc.org

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday and Sunday 10am-5pm

The house was home to Jefferson Davis, President of the Confederate States of America, and his family from August, 1861, until the evacuation of Richmond on April 2, 1865. It served as the political and social epicenter of wartime Richmond.

The White House currently holds a large number of furnishings and artifacts that were in the house with the Davis family. All of the remaining items are original to the period, except for the textiles which are reproductions based on original fabrics or period patterns.

 

Wickham HouseThe Wickham House

Print this house listing

operated by the Valentine Richmond History Center
1015 East Clay Street
804-649-0711
www.richmondhistorycenter.com

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-5pm and Sunday Noon-5pm

The Wickham House, built in 1812, is a spectacular example of 19th-century Federal architecture and displays some of the country’s finest examples of interior decorative painting. Listed as a National Historic Landmark, the Wickham House, built by John Wickham, illustrates the lives of one of Richmond’s most prominent families. The Wickham House was purchased by Mann Valentine, Jr., and in 1898 became the first home of the Valentine Museum.  The majority of the house interprets the daily life of the family and it’s day-to-day operations.  The home’s second floor is host to a newly interpreted exhibit "Creating History" that explores the Valentine Family legacy including Valentine’s Meat Juice and the original collection of the museum. 

 

Salem Museum/Williams-Brown HouseThe Williams-Brown House

Print this house listing

801 East Main Street
Salem
540-389-6760

Promotional Weekend Hours:
Saturday 10am-3pm

The Williams-Brown House in Salem (now home to the Salem Museum) was the first structure in town put on the National Register of Historic Places. The building was designed and built about 1845 by entrepreneur William C. Williams as a store on the ground floor and his family’s residence upstairs. The building is distinguished by the double front porches, the lower one with unique arched
Entrances of brick that possibly served as loading docks for wagons. The Salem Historical Society acquired the house in 1985, and relocated it a short distance into Longwood Park in order to preserve it. The Salem Museum opened in the building in 1992, and that facility was expanded with an environmentally friendly addition in 2010.

 

Wilton House MuseumThe Wilton House

Print this house listing

215 South Wilton Road
Richmond
804-282-5936
www.wiltonhousemuseum.org
Promotional Weekend Hours: Saturday 10am-4:30pm, Sunday 1pm-4:30pm

Overlooking a placid stretch of the James River, Wilton House has been welcoming guests since constructed in the 1750s as the centerpiece of a sprawling tobacco plantation by the prominent Randolph Family of Virginia.  Here, friends, relations, and weary travelers such as Thomas Jefferson, George Washington and the Marquise de Lafayette were welcomed. An impressive example of 18th-century Georgian Style architecture Wilton House boasts its original and richly detailed paneling and an exquisite collection of fine and decorative arts from the Colonial and early Federal eras. When development threatened Wilton House in the 1930s, The National Society of The Colonial Dames of America in the Commonwealth of Virginia purchased and restored the property. 

Official Seal of Virginia
Home
Explore
Learn
Contact Us
Office of the Governor, Robert F. McDonnell | © Commonwealth of Virginia 2014 |  WAI Level A Compliant |  Web Policy
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer
spacer